Sweet Break Time

I have been thoroughly enjoying my winter break from school.  At first I was nervous that I wouldn’t use the time wisely.  I was afraid I would lose all the hard work I put in last semester getting in dance shape, flexibility and technique wise.  I was so productive and on top of things during the semester I was afraid I would let things get away from me if I relaxed a bit.

Look!  I had time to do my nails!  I even put glitter on them!

Look! I had time to do my nails! I even put glitter on them!

I have definitely been relaxing.  I know it is good for me, but I am one of those people that have a really hard time relaxing.  We have been catching up with friends and getting in some fun quality time.  I have been playing with my camera and enjoying taking pictures without deadlines or grades attached to them.  I have read some books just for fun without having to write a paper about them.

And the best part, I have gotten to work out without having to be afraid of getting hurt or being too sore to dance the next day.  I have really enjoyed experimenting with running and weights and pushing myself harder on the different machines.  Knowing that I can take as many recovery days as I need plus all the added rest time I am getting allows me to push myself a little and see what happens!  For normal people without Fibromyalgia I realize this may sound a little weird, but believe me, this is a huge freedom!  Pushing my body is a huge risk, for many years (before Reliv), if I pushed myself too hard on something it could take weeks to recover.

I am sure I have lost some technique – that can happen over a weekend, but I know that my body is stronger now than it was just a month ago so I can’t wait to see what will happen when I’m back in class.  I have been stretching a lot so I don’t think I lost that too much either!  Yay!

yummy turkey sandwich

yummy turkey sandwich

The best guacamole ever!

The best guacamole ever!

The only thing I am concerned about is getting back into the busy schedule of school.  In the moment I enjoy it but when I’m all relaxed like I am now it is definitely hard to kick it up a notch and get back to the life of full time school/full time work.  I have 2 1/2 weeks left and I am enjoying every second.  I won’t have time like this again until June!

My favorite photo! And we were on vacation which makes the memory even better!

My favorite photo! And we were on vacation which makes the memory even better!

 

Do you like being super busy?

– pretty much, yes!!  until it’s time to rest!

Do you have trouble relaxing?

– guilty, even as a kid I scheduled my play time!  I know, I’m a little crazy!

Do you have periods in your life when things are crazy busy and then wonderfully relaxing?

– I think as long as I am in school this will be my life, and then I’ll have kids in school and they will perpetuate it!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sweet Break Time

  1. That last picture is gorgeous!
    Love your nails too 🙂
    Nice to hear you’re enjoying the break. I gotta admit, I don’t like to be super busy, I love downtime and time to myself to relax!

Leave a Comment

